Platter's Wine guide logo

Sorry, but your browser is not supported :(

This website uses modern features that are not supported by Internet Explorer 8 or lower or compatibility mode.
In order to access this website, you will need to upgrade your browser.

Click here for more information on upgrading to a modern browser.

  Diners Club Winemaker of the Year 2013 finalists announced

26 Oct 2013

Topics: Black Pearl, Christiaan Groenewald, David Finlayson, Diners Club, Diners Club Winemaker of the Year, Edgebaston, Johan Jordaan, Johan Malan, La Residence Hotel, Mary-Lou Nash, New Cape Wines, Simonsig, South Africa, South African wine, Spier, Wildekrans Wine Estate, William Wilkinson, wine

The finalists of the prestigious Diners Club Winemaker of the Year 2013 award have been announced.

They are Christiaan Groenewald (New Cape Wines), Mary-Lou Nash (Black Pearl/Rhenosterkop), William Wilkinson (Wildekrans Wine Estate), Johan Malan (Simonsig), Johan Jordaan (Spier) and David Finlayson (Edgebaston).

The category for this year’s competition is non-Bordeaux red blends, and the winner will be announced at a black tie gala dinner at the La Residence Hotel, Franschhoek, on 30 November 2013.

The six finalists are competing for the celebrated title of Diners Club Winemaker of the Year as well as two return tickets to San Francisco, gateway to the premium winegrowing region of Northern California. The winemaker will also receive an allowance of R50,000.

Now in its 33rd year, Diners Club Winemaker of the Year is regarded as the country’s most well-respected wine industry competition. The award recognises the art of making fine South African wine and celebrates the experts behind the winemaking process.

Related Articles


  • No comments yet. Be the first!

Leave a comment

* All comments are moderated before being published.